The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2004, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
I would have to do some research and dig out my old NF/NASO Guidebooks, but I am almost sure there was a play that showed a throw-in that was tapped out of bounds on A in this situation and they did not allow the continuation of "running the baseline."

[/B]
Jeff, casebook play 7.5.7SitB(c) is exactly the same as what you wrote above. As soon as an A player legally touched the throw-in in-bounds, the throw-in ended. If the ball then goes OOB after A touched it, then that is a separate play and a violation that occurred after the end of the throw-in. That's why the subsequent throw-in is always a spot throw-in. That's the logic used in the case book play [/B][/QUOTE]

Agreed, but as I already stated, there is another case play where the throw-in ends when the defensive player kicks the ball. In that case, end-line privileges are retained. The FED needs to clarify the wording in the rule by saying something about the privileges ending when the throw-in ends without it being ended by a defensive violation.

Z
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1