![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Are you saying that if everything happened exactly as described (FT misses, kid rebounds, everybody takes a few steps upcourt, then horn sounds), but the clock did not run, we could just line back up and shoot one FT? If so, then why can't we do that after the clock ticks off 2 seconds? By rule, why not? I'll grant you that it's very unusual, but it's really just two mistakes (not 2-10 correctable errors). One is the error by the official who stated 1-and-1 instead of 2 shots, and the other is a timer's error for letting the clock run when it shouldn't have. As soon as the mistakes are discovered (again, assuming that the horn sounded within a second or two), we realize that the ball really never became live after the FT missed. As long as the ball never became live, there's been no 2-10 error. If the play is allowed to continue for several seconds or if Team B is allowed to score, then it becomes implausible to say that the ball never became live. But if it's caught immediately, then it makes perfect sense to say "Uh, guys, it was 2 shots".
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
Bookmarks |
|
|