The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 13, 2004, 12:46pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by LarryS
Am I goofy or did they kick this.

HS Freshmen Boys (contract officials not asssociated with any chapter). A1 is to shoot 2 free throws, enters the circle while staring at the rim...never notices that his foot is on the FT line. Lead bounces him the ball...TWEET...Trail calls him for a violation as soon as he catches the ball.

A1 still had not looked at his feet. I thought it wouldn't be a violation until he actually attempted the shot. Am I missing something?
By rule, the ref is right. Between the time the ball is at the shooter's disposal and the shot either hits the basket or goes through the basket, it's a violation for anyone to be in the lane. In this case, as soon as he caught the ball, it's a violation.
Lead should have caught it first, though, and prevented it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1