The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2004, 10:56am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by tomegun
it should be called/reported as a push after the ball leaves the shooter's hands.
Why exactly? The shooter didn't push the defender, he charged into him. The signal is the same, and if you're worried about confusing somebody, ok. But in reality, it's a charging foul, not a push.

I can pick nits with the best of 'em, Tommy

Why pick nits? Just use the rules:

NCAA RULE 4-8 CHARGING:
AR6(Men)- B1 is standing under the basket before A1 jumps for a layup. The forward motion of A1 causes contact with B1:
RULING: B1 is entitled to the position provided there was no movement to such position by B1 after A1 leaped from the floor. .........When the contact occurs before the ball has become dead, a charging foul has been committed by A1.

Pretty straightforward.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1