The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2004, 12:05pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,143
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra

Situation C is not a timer's error, it is an official's error which is why it is NOT correctable, definite information has NOTHING to do with the ruling in 5.10.1.C.
Yes - it's an official's error NOT a clock error.

No one is suggesting that the clock mis-timed the last ten seconds. Note the last sentence of the ruling "There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official's accuracy in counting seconds." That is the point of 5.10.1 C - that the official's count is independent of the clock. This casebook play has nothing to do with the 2.8 seconds left situation.

Mark:

Thank you for making the point I was trying to make but was too lazy to point out.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1