|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Yes.  Any violation is a shot clock reset criteria.  It is basically the same as if a defender kicked the ball.  I think it helps if you consider the rationale behind when we reset.  We don't penalize a defender for good defense (blocked shot / held ball) however kciking and elbows are written in stone infractions so the shot clock gets the reset [Edited by Wearin' Stripes on Dec 8th, 2004 at 01:08 PM] | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Mark: I think you are correct because this is a floor violation, just like a "kicked ball" requires a reset (even though ball stays with same team). Use the "circling finger over head" signal for the reset. See, I told you shot clocks are a pain in the neck. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 A no call, player swings his elbows at an opponent? I'm thinking unsportsman-like conduct. T Reset the clock! 
				__________________ "A picture is worth a thousand words". | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Be very careful with this (hint - you may want to re-read rule 9). 
				__________________ "To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			[QUOTE Can you call a violation on the defense for this? I know you can call a violation on the offense for it but on the defense wouldn't it have to be a foul, flagrant foul, or a no call? [/B][/QUOTE] Since when does "swinging elbows" violation differ between offense and defense? If no contact = violation. If there is contact = T foul. Doesn't matter which team commits the action. Reset the clock (this is NOT the same as a ball being batted out of bounds, which is not a violation, per se). | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 If there is contact = T foul. Doesn't matter which team commits the action. Reset the clock (this is NOT the same as a ball being batted out of bounds, which is not a violation, per se). [/B][/QUOTE] 1) If it's contact during a live ball, then it's a personal foul (might be intentional or flagrant), not a T. 2) "Causing the ball to go OOB" is a violation -- see 9- 3 (both FED and NCAA). It's just an "exception" to the shot-clock rule (NCAA 2-13.7a, instead of 2-13.6e) | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			OOPS, my bad.  Not a T (I was getting confused with when they wanted us to call a T on swinging elbows even with no contact).  Also, on the "out of bounds" violation (I know it's a violation) I meant the same thing, just didn't word it as well as you did (exception to shot clock reset). Thanks for the clarification. | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |