The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
Partner reports foul but it's middle of the 3rd and I'm not thinking 5th foul yet. We line up to shoot the 1-1 and shooter B1 is in motion when horn goes off to let us know that A1 has 5. While ball is still on B1's finger tips, parnter blows whistle. We let coach A and player A1 know that's 5 then line back up to shoot the front end of 1-1. Now I'm frustrated with table for not communicating in time and now I get to clean it up. B1 missed the orig FT but was certainly way into motion when horn/whistle blew and I can see why he missed as the table disconcerted him. Now Coach A is upset because A2 rebounded and he doesn't wnat to give B1 another try.

Considering what happened, did we do right?
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
You handled it the best you could. I bet if the basket was made the coach of the defensive team would be whistling a different tune.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,094
Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Partner reports foul but it's middle of the 3rd and I'm not thinking 5th foul yet. We line up to shoot the 1-1 and shooter B1 is in motion when horn goes off to let us know that A1 has 5. While ball is still on B1's finger tips, parnter blows whistle. We let coach A and player A1 know that's 5 then line back up to shoot the front end of 1-1. Now I'm frustrated with table for not communicating in time and now I get to clean it up. B1 missed the orig FT but was certainly way into motion when horn/whistle blew and I can see why he missed as the table disconcerted him. Now Coach A is upset because A2 rebounded and he doesn't wnat to give B1 another try.

Considering what happened, did we do right?
Since the ball was still in the shooter's hand, the whistle made the ball dead. No FT was shot.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 09:45pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,654
This is one of those plays where you are damned if you do and damned if you don't.

The Scorer's signal does not cause the ball to become dead. Since B1 had already started his shooting motion, the official should refrain from sounding his whistle unless, the official is absolutely sure that the Scorer's signal caused B1 to hesitate and/or stop his shooting motion, in that case, the official should sound his whistle and kill the play immediately even if the ball is in the air.

When the Scorer's signal is sounded during the middle of play, the officials should be very careful as to whether to stop play or not. But when it sounds during free throws, the free throw shooter should always be given the benefit of the doubt, even though good coaches teach his players to keep playing until they hear an official's whistle not to stop playing when they hear the horn.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1