The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
I know we've been round & round on this topic before but the sitch came up this weekend in a game. On a designated spot throw-in, the thrower passed the ball "diagonally" to his teammate inbounds. The defender reaches across the throw-in plane and intercepts the pass. Do you have a whistle there? (the defender did not reach across and touch the ball while it was in possession of the thrower and the defender did not reach across the plane until the ball had been released by the thrower).
I had no whistle on the play. But afterwards I was thinking that, if the offense had caught that throw-in pass on the OOB side of the plane, that's a throw-in violation. So if the offense isn't allowed to catch it there, why should the defense be allowed to? And isn't it only a T if the touching by the defense occurs while the ball is in the possesion of the thrower? I can't find a rule/caseplay to answer this.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1