The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2004, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Question:

As A lines up for a 1+1, a player line up in the spot next to the free throw shooter (illegal)

Is this a lane violation? If so, is it called before / after the shot?

I think it is called before the shot, and it negates the first shot.

What if this is a 2 shot foul? Will the lane vio. negate only the first shot or both?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2004, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 373
I don't have my rulebook with me so I can't quote what the actual ruling is but I will give my practical answer. If a player lines up there, it is the officials fault. To me this is equivalent to making sure there are two defensive players in the first two spaces. However, in this case make him/her move to the correct spot. If the ball is administered already and I notice it, I will hit my whistle, state that I have made a mistake, move the player to a legal spot and re-administer the FT.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2004, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to joseph2493
Cool

Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
Question:

As A lines up for a 1+1, a player line up in the spot next to the free throw shooter (illegal)

Is this a lane violation? If so, is it called before / after the shot?

I think it is called before the shot, and it negates the first shot.

What if this is a 2 shot foul? Will the lane vio. negate only the first shot or both?

Thanks
It depends if offensive/defense has caused the infraction.

With defense it is delayed till after the shot.

With the offense it is called immediately and cancels that free throw. If it is the first of two, the shooter will still get the oppurtunity at the second shot.

__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2004, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 49
First of all, I would hope the administering official would not let anyone line up in that space, which the rule book says is not a marked lane space.(8-1-4) If someone is not in a marked lane space they must be behing FT line extended and 3 pt. line. If it is a teammate of the free thrower I think it would be dead immediately, go other way if 1&1 shoot 2nd shot if multiple throws. If it is an opponent it is a delayed dead ball, if it goes count it if not shoot again. This is how I think it should be.

Shont
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2004, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
I see this happen all the time, I just tell the player get out of there. Once they hear it a time or two, they stop lining up there. Preventive Officiating is the key!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2004, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
Question:

As A lines up for a 1+1, a player line up in the spot next to the free throw shooter (illegal)

Is this a lane violation? If so, is it called before / after the shot?

I think it is called before the shot, and it negates the first shot.

What if this is a 2 shot foul? Will the lane vio. negate only the first shot or both?

Thanks
Let me preface the following by saying that I agree the official made a mistake here and it could have been prevented. My personal approach? I would look to remedy this situation through "common sense officiating" which is fundamental to the game.

However, it is the responsibility of the coach(es) to be sure that their players are familiar with all the rules. If memory serves, that is stated in the rule book. So the player should already know that the top position is not to be occupied.

As far as the ruling, if the defense has taken the position, this is a delayed whistle situation. If the attempt is missed another attempt will be awarded. If the offense has take the position, the attempt is killed immediately.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,487
Case Book play 8.1.4 covers this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1