The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2004, 05:22am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,143
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by BUZZ1
WHILE PLAYING A GAME TWO OPPOSING PLAYERS GO FOR LOOSE BALL.ONE PLAYER TAPS BALL OVER OTHER PLAYERS HEAD THEN RUNNING INTO HIS FRONTCOURT FROM BACKCOURT HE PROCEEDS TO CATCH UP TO THE BALL AND DRIBBLE IT. IS THIS A PASS TO HIMSELF OR ANY TYPE OF VIOLATION? THANK YOU
First of all, please stop yelling (using all capital letters means that you are yelling). The tapped ball that you describe is not considered control so whether or not A1 caught the ball or waited for it to hit the floor, he/she could dribble it once they caught up to it.

Z

The question that zebraman forgot to ask was: Did Team A (the player who did the tapping) have team control of the ball in its frontcourt prior to its player tapping the ball?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1