The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 2004, 12:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by drinkeii
Was the call correct,
No.

Quote:
or is my understanding of the rule?
No, that's not correct either.

The play was not over-and-back, but only b/c there's an explicit exception for that airborne player. So the officials got it wrong.

But normally, all the conditions for over-and-back would be met in that situation. When A2 leaps from the frontcourt, he has frontcourt status. When he catches the ball, he establishes team control and gives the ball frontcourt status. When he lands in the backcourt, he becomes the first player to touch it after it has gone in the backcourt. So all the elements of over-and-back have been met.

But, as I said, there is an explicit exception for this situation.

The "two feet and the ball" provision only applies to a player who is dribbling from backcourt to frontcourt. Don't get it confused with a player holding the ball, or with a player jumping from frontcourt to backcourt.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1