![]() |
|
|
|||
as the high school season, comes along, I have been studying getting ready, and realized that I have become unsure on a few things... I hope everyone doesnt mind if I ask a few questions...
1. Rule 7-5 art 7, afer many discussions has become unclear. I would like another intepretation. 2. After administering free throws for "regular" fouls, do you clear the lane for a for a technical foul, do you clear the lane. This question is to clear a bet with a relative.. 2. Is a player control foul an example of an offensive foul? 3. If as in rule 7-6 art 1, if the throw in DOES NOT touch another player BEFORE going out of bounds, is it a violation or just a "delay in game?" and please specify the penalty? 4. Rule 8-1 art 3, so, the rule states, "IF the ball is to become dead when the last free throw for a specific throw is unsuccessful..." confuses me. the ball is already dead, or is the rule referring to other violations, (PCF, or CF) and also the ball would already be dead if the shot was for a technical foul correct? I'm just all confused on that one.. So, please assist, it would be greatly appreciated |
|
|||
Originally posted by bbgirl
1. Rule 7-5 art 7, afer many discussions has become unclear. I would like another intepretation. The rule is designed for the offense to not lose their advantage (of running the end line) due to a defensive foul or violation. If Team A has end-line-run-privileges and Team B commits a common foul or violation, Team A will continue to have end-line-run-privileges on the ensuing throw-in if the ensuing throw-in is once again from the endline. 2. After administering free throws for "regular" fouls, do you clear the lane for a for a technical foul, do you clear the lane. ANY free throws that are not going to be rebounded (technical, intentional etc.) are administered with the lane cleared. This question is to clear a bet with a relative.. 2. Is a player control foul an example of an offensive foul? Yep. 3. If as in rule 7-6 art 1, if the throw in DOES NOT touch another player BEFORE going out of bounds, is it a violation or just a "delay in game?" and please specify the penalty? Violation. Team B gets the ball for a throw-in at the spot of where Team A's original throw-in was. 4. Rule 8-1 art 3, so, the rule states, "IF the ball is to become dead when the last free throw for a specific throw is unsuccessful..." confuses me. the ball is already dead, or is the rule referring to other violations, (PCF, or CF) and also the ball would already be dead if the shot was for a technical foul correct? I'm just all confused on that one.. The ball is live once the free thrower has the ball. If it misses, it's live. If it's made, it becomes live once it's available for a throw-in to Team B. However, on the case of intentional fouls and technical fouls, there is going to be a throw-in after the FT's so the ball will become dead once the free throw is made or missed. Z |
|
|||
![]()
Friendly advice...
So many questions in one thread can lead to confusion in the replies. You may want to consider deleting this thread and offer a more SPECIFIC thread for each area you need assistance with.
__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done." Chris Z. Detroit/SE Michigan ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Cute. Bbgirl -- In high school ball, when going by NFHS rules, a foul by a player on the team with control of the ball is the same as a foul by the defender, except for the Player Control foul. Same penalty, same counting into the foul count, same consideration for displacement, time and distance and so forth. College and pro rules treat these differently. |
|
|||
Quote:
A charge is usually a foul on the offense, but it could be on the defense too. Charging just means that you have pushed or moved into an opponents torso. When a defensive player or an offensive player without the ball charges, it is generally signaled as a "push" foul because there is no mechanic to signal a charge. When the offensive player with the ball charges, you would signal a player control foul. Z |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
As to the second part of your question, I suggest you read the NF rule book as to the meanings of "team control" and "player control". It should all become clear to you then.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
A player control foul can only be commited by the player with control of the basket ball. An example of this could be a charge or some action with the non-dribbling arm, like a push or a hook. HS and NCAA treat fouls by the offense slightly different and you would have to have someone else here explain the difference.
__________________
I only wanna know ... |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Re: Charge?
Quote:
10-6-1: A player shall not: hold, push, CHARGE, trip; ... Also, see signal 32 (as has been pointed out before in this thread) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|