The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 06, 2001, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
It sounds to me that the rule cited by Mark D. was not followed. He notified the assistant, and the rules specify team and head coach - not the bench or an assistant. I can't believe that, before putting ball at disposal after last TO the ref had no opportunity to notify the head coach.

I don't have my book at hand, but this begs a few questions. What is the call if no official notice is given? Does the technical foul rule for excessive timeouts supercede the rule that notification be given? Should they get a freebie since the initial rule on the last TO was not followed?

Think about the rule on notification prior to end of halftime. If no notification is given, what is the call when the team does not show up on time? This seems to parallel that situation.

I can see this being no T because of failure to give proper notice to the coach, with heartfelt apologies to the opponents.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1