The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 06, 2001, 01:10am
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 171
Send a message via AIM to Bradley Batt
Quote:
If the ball is over the rim when the grasping occurs BI cancel the basket and award the T (see note and 10.3.5b casebook)
Paul - I think that you are misreading the case (there are two scenarios - a and b).

You can only have basket interference if a player touches the ball while it is in the cylinder OR if a player touches the rim while the ball is ON the rim.

That's it. You cannot have BI for the ball being within the cylinder and the player touching the rim (no matter what coaches and fans say!)

Ruling: Assess the technical. If the ball goes in, it counts.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1