![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Yesterday, during a youth game, the following occurred during a one-and-one free throw situation. I was lead and gave ball to the thrower A-1. On the attempt, player B-1 committed lane violation and I blew my whistle when attempt was over. At approximately the same time, my partner blew his whistle because the throw missed the rim entirely. We huddled and decided we had a double violation and used the possession arrow to give the ball to Team B on a spot throw in. Right or wrong?
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
The defensive lane violation occurred before the ball missed the rim. Since the lane violation "may have disconcerted" the shooter, give A-1 another 1-1. mick |
|
|||
Quote:
..Mike |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
No,... I am not sure, and I do not remember anything to the contrary. That's my call and I'm stickin' to it until I get more information. ![]() mick |
|
|||
Double violation
I think the violation should be a delayed call until the free throw has ended. The free throw ended when the ball did not have a chance to go in. Therefore double violation.
|
|
|||
Unless there is the windmilling of the arms or a similar action to keep from falling into the lane, it is a double violation and you go to the arrow. Once again, disruption of the shooter is a judgement thing.
|
|
|||
Alot of these doubles will occur after the release, a defender steps in early before the ball hits the rim
and the shot is a brick. simple foot faults prior to the release will also get the double. Anything near the shooter or that goes into the lane or the good old windmill I would consider disconcerting. It is a judgement call and you have to see it to make a good call. |
|
|||
Double Violation
Quote:
|
|
|||
By rule you did it correctly. You passed the test. Now when I had it happen in a game and I called it that way, the assignor watching the freshman level game chewed me out for not showing good game management skills and awarding a substitute free throw. His reasoning was that he missed everything because he was disconcerted by the original violation.
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
I am still calling the first violation, and I am not gonna open a window to argue with the shooter, or the coach, whether it was disconcerting, or not. Why even go there? This is not a hard call. mick |
|
|||
The original post does not indicate when the lane violation occurred, before or after release. If before, yeah, go with the single violation on grounds of disconcerting the shooter.
Then again, if you have seen my teams shoot free throws, you would have to judge whether that airball was closer or farther than any of their other misses that day to deermine whether they were helped or hurt by the violation ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|