The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 16, 2004, 03:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Redhouse
The arrow is set toward the team that shall receive the throw in when the ball is bounced or placed at the disposal of the thrower casebook 6.4.1 sit F.
"Thrower" in that case refers to "inbounder" not "Free thrower."

Since the T wasn't a common foul (duh!), the arrow isn't set on the FT -- it's set when the ball is at the disposal of the inbounder.

Since the arrow wasn't set when the double foul occurred, the arrow can't be used for posession.

Jump ball between those involved in the double foul. The jump ball will be in the center circle, no matter where the foul occurred.
Bob, you're right on. An NFHS official should do exactly what you say. Redhouse failed to given proper attention to the sentence immediately prior to the one quoted. That one reads, "Team A will then be given the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table." So, as you said, Bob, thrower in the next sentence clearly refers to the inbounder not the free thrower.

So that everyone who reads this is clear 4-3 deals with the setting of the initial arrow. This rule tells us that whether the foul is a common foul or a noncommon (technical, intentional) foul makes a difference in when the arrow is initially set.
"the possession arrow is set toward the opponent's basket when:"
"ART. 2...The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect.
ART. 3...The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after:
a. A violation during or following the jump before a player secures control.
b. The free throws for a noncommon foul.
c. A common foul when the bonus free throw is not in effect."

OldCoachNewRef,
Article 3b is the proper one to apply for this play. Notice the word "after" just before the colon in article 3. The arrow is not set until AFTER the free throws. Tell that ONE guy who is in your group thanks, since he is right.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Nov 16th, 2004 at 06:48 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1