The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 15, 2004, 12:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 179
Sorry to be a football/baseball official barging in on your board, but I was a little curious about something.

Last night in an NCAA exhibition game (Tennessee vs. Carson-Newman), a technical foul was charged to a C-N player who MIGHT have hung on the rim a bit long; it seemed like the whistle came awfully quick after the dunk.

Later in the game, the same thing was called on a Tennessee player, but it looked like he hung on the rim to keep from falling on someone beneath him. Most everyone felt like the only reason they called that one was because they had called the previous one.

Is this a POE this year, and if so, what exactly is the rule?

(I know this is probably a "had to be there" type call, but I was just curious as to what the interpretation was.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 15, 2004, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,090
Quote:
Originally posted by bigwes68
Sorry to be a football/baseball official barging in on your board, but I was a little curious about something.

Last night in an NCAA exhibition game (Tennessee vs. Carson-Newman), a technical foul was charged to a C-N player who MIGHT have hung on the rim a bit long; it seemed like the whistle came awfully quick after the dunk.

Later in the game, the same thing was called on a Tennessee player, but it looked like he hung on the rim to keep from falling on someone beneath him. Most everyone felt like the only reason they called that one was because they had called the previous one.

Is this a POE this year, and if so, what exactly is the rule?

(I know this is probably a "had to be there" type call, but I was just curious as to what the interpretation was.)
It's not a published POE.

The rule (10-3.12): "[The following shall result in an indirect tecnical foul.] Grasping either basket in an excessive, emphatic manner during the official's jurisdiction when the player is not, in the judgment of an official, trying to prevent an obvious injury to himself, herself or others."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 15, 2004, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
As Bob said, it's not a published POE, but Hank Nicols spent a lot of time talking about it in the pre-season NCAA officials video. . .
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1