The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 14, 2004, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Yes, that would be the correct case play. It was intially posted on the NFHS website as an interpretation prior to appearing in the case book for the first time. Since the officials error placed Team B at a disadvantage, the ball is dead immediately and the basket is cancelled. No, it isn't a correctable error but the case book states that the play should be blown dead immediately. We aren't going to further penalize Team B because we didn't blow the whistle quickly enough.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 15, 2004, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 480
adding anudder error situation.......

After a violation, not subsequent to a made basket, Team B gets the ball on the endline. Team A calls their LAST timeout to setup a full court press. On the ensuing inbound the Lead official incorrectly informs B1 that he can run the endline for the throw-in. B1 runs the endline towards the far sideline (right in front of Team A bench) and executes a throw-in that results in a made basket on the other end by B2. Coach A approaches the scorer's table and requests a time out to address the error in allowing B1 to run the baseline.

Q1. Is this an error that is correctable?

Q2. If not, does Team A get charged a timeout for the stoppage and is it a technical since no TO's left?

__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done."
Chris Z.
Detroit/SE Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 15, 2004, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Robmoz
adding anudder error situation.......

After a violation, not subsequent to a made basket, Team B gets the ball on the endline. Team A calls their LAST timeout to setup a full court press. On the ensuing inbound the Lead official incorrectly informs B1 that he can run the endline for the throw-in. B1 runs the endline towards the far sideline (right in front of Team A bench) and executes a throw-in that results in a made basket on the other end by B2. Coach A approaches the scorer's table and requests a time out to address the error in allowing B1 to run the baseline.

Q1. Is this an error that is correctable?

Q2. If not, does Team A get charged a timeout for the stoppage and is it a technical since no TO's left?

Unfortunately, no, yes, and yes. And then yes, you never work that gym again!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1