The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2004, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Here is the NFHS ruling on the falling out of bounds. In this years case book it is there. 7.1.1 Situation D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrive an errant pass near a boundry line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (A) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (B) returns inbounds and immediatley dribbles the ball; or (C) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble.

Ruling:
Legal in both A and B. Illeagal in (c) as the toss of a ball to the court by A1 consitutes the start of a dribble, dribbiling a second time after picking up the ball is an illeagal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1