Quote:
Originally posted by Larks
A1 is holding the ball, falling out of bounds. He realizes he cant stay in bounds so he drops the ball in bounds....falls out of bounds....he then comes back in bounds and is the first to touch the ball. Legal?
NFHS references please.
Larks
|
If you have player control, dropping or throwing the ball in bounds is considered a pass/dribble.
By rule, if you make a pass and for whatever reason, there is not a teammate there to catch it, the passer may recover the ball or not secure the ball but continue dribbling it, as long as they had not ended a dribble before the pass.
In your play A1 had player control and either passed or dribbled when he dropped the ball on the floor. A1 may come back in and continue the dribble, the drop becomes an interrupted dribble, or secure the ball, and that would end the dribble.