The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 12:13pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude

99. It is not a violation on a throw-in if A1 jumps from A's frontcourt and while airborne, catches the throw-in and then passes to A2, who is standing in A's backcourt.

We all know 9-9-3...On a throw-in, if a player of either team is first to gain control while airborne, no violation occurs if the player jumped from frontcourt and lands in backcourt.

Two questions:
1)What rule reference can I quote that shows it is in fact a violation for an airborne player jumping from frontcourt on a throw-in and passing to a teammate in the backcourt?

Use R9-9-3 as your rules reference. This is an exception to R9-9-1 that applies only to the player of the team not in control that actually catches the pass/jump ball/throw-in while airborne from the front court to back court. This exception specifically applies to that player only, not to his teammates also. His teammates are still covered under R9-9-1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1