The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
We had quite a discussion (OK argument) last night at our meeting concerning question #99.

99. It is not a violation on a throw-in if A1 jumps from A's frontcourt and while airborne, catches the throw-in and then passes to A2, who is standing in A's backcourt.

We all know 9-9-3...On a throw-in, if a player of either team is first to gain control while airborne, no violation occurs if the player jumped from frontcourt and lands in backcourt.

Two questions:
1)What rule reference can I quote that shows it is in fact a violation for an airborne player jumping from frontcourt on a throw-in and passing to a teammate in the backcourt?

2)I heard NFHS might be changing this ruling, in the future, so that question #99 would be True...has anyone else heard this?
When A1 caught the ball the throw-in ended. Also when A1 caught the ball player and team control was established. A1 last position was in front court ergo a pass to A2 in backcourt results in a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1