The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Defensive player B1 leaves his feet to defend a faked lob pass. While B1 is airborne, A1 moves underneath him. To avoid injury, B1 grasps the basket ring. While B1 is grasping the ring, A2 shoots the ball. Just after A2 shoots, B1 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when A2's shot hits the ring and then(a)goes in or(b)doesn't go in.

What's the call in both cases.
Did B1 pull down the moveable ring? If so did the ring contact the ball before it returned to its original position? Was B1 graspng the ring when the ball was in the cylinder?

If not then I got nuthin'.
B1 had already let go off the ring before the shot contacted it, but the ring was still moving from B1 pulling on it when the ball hit the ring.
Oh.

Hmmm...B1 can grab the ring to prevent injury but there's no so such exception for making the ring vibrate when the shot's in the air.

Can I just tell the coach I didn't see him grab the ring?
As long as there is involvement between a defender/basket that causes a ball to not go in--I've got GT. It it was grabbed for protection--pass on the T.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1