The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 02:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
This is a question from our study guide which has generated a lot of discussion. I thought that I would share it here.

A1 is inbounding the ball with 3/10-of-a-second remaining on the game clock. A1 inbounds the ball to A5 who catches the ball and while attempting a try for goal is fouled by B5 for Team B's 8th team foul of the half. The official calls a foul on B5 and awards A5: (a) Two free throws. (b) A one-and-one bonus situation.

By rule you can not catch and shoot, so I can't see how you can have a shooting foul in that situation. If the contact occurred before the horn, I'd say you could have a common foul...if you had the guts to call it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1