The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2004, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to stewcall
Quote:
Originally posted by rocky50
This was a 7th grade girl’s basketball game. The ball was thrown in bounds under the basket in the back court (no defenders nearby). The player after taking a few dribbles somehow lost the ball and it started to rollout of bounds. Before the ball was out of bounds her coach called time out and my partner granted the time out. The opposing coach complained saying that she has to have possession before a time out can be granted. What is the ruling on this and where would I find it in the rules book?

Thanks
5-8- article 3 NF

improper time out given by the official- an interrupted dribble does not have player control.

As for what you do once the time out is granted- talk it over with your partner. Grant the time out go with the arrow
Stew
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1