The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 30, 2004, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
College scrimmage between Division II schools. Game goes into overtime. As the players walk out onto the floor for the extra period, B1 player walks up to me and asks "do you get paid extra for this?"

At first I thought he was just joking around, but then realized he was being a jerk by his reaction and demeanor and he was smarting off.

I ignored him and walked to my U1 position. Question: First scrimmage of the year for both teams, but if this was further into the season and I call the tech, does A team shoot the tech and if a basket goes the game is over, or do we still play the extra period? Any difference between college and FED?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 31, 2004, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,988
Quote:
Originally posted by djskinn
College scrimmage between Division II schools. Game goes into overtime. As the players walk out onto the floor for the extra period, B1 player walks up to me and asks "do you get paid extra for this?"

At first I thought he was just joking around, but then realized he was being a jerk by his reaction and demeanor and he was smarting off.

I ignored him and walked to my U1 position. Question: First scrimmage of the year for both teams, but if this was further into the season and I call the tech, does A team shoot the tech and if a basket goes the game is over, or do we still play the extra period? Any difference between college and FED?
OT is still played. In NCAA, shoot the throws, tehn start with the jumpball. In FED, shoot the throws and give the ball to the non-offendig team for a throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 31, 2004, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
The only comment that probably should be added to Bob's reply above is that the fourth quarter (HS) or 2nd half (college) has ended. Any infractions/penalties/points that occur after the end of regulation can only be assessed in the overtime period. You cannot have a infraction/violation occur in one period and then assess the penalty in another period.

Now if the foul/tech. occurs slightly before or simultaneously to the period ending horn, then you've got an entirely different situation.........
__________________
Jeff Pearson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2004, 02:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,369
IMO, the only comment which SHOULD be added to Bob's reply above is an explanation of why you do it the way he says.
The reason is that in NFHS rules a technical foul carrys possession of the ball to the opponents as part of the penalty, while under NCAA rules play continues from the point of interruption in the vast majority of cases.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1