The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 25, 2004, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Further, even it it were, the rule also exludes counting it for three if it so much as touches a teammate.
I don't understand this. Please explain.
Rule 5...
SECTION 2 SCORING
ART. 1 . . . A successful try, tap or thrown ball that does not touch the floor, a teammate or official, from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch line count three points. Any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. See 4-5-5.

Three basic cases:
A1 throws the ball from behind the arc. No one else touches it. It goes in (try or not). 3 points.

A1 throws the ball from behind the arc. B1 tips the ball. It goes in (try or not). 3 points.

A1 throws the ball from behind the arc. A2 tips the ball. It goes in (try or not). 2 points.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1