Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by rainmaker  
	Quote: 
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by Camron Rust  
 Further, even it it were, the rule also exludes counting it for three if it so much as touches a teammate. 
 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 I don't understand this.  Please explain. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Rule 5...
SECTION 2 SCORING 
ART. 1 . . . A successful try, tap or 
thrown ball that does not touch the floor, 
a teammate or official, from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch line 
count three points. 
Any other goal from the field 
counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. See 4-5-5. 
Three basic cases:
A1 throws the ball from behind the arc. No one else touches it. It goes in (try or not). 3 points.
A1 throws the ball from behind the arc. B1 tips the ball.  It goes in (try or not). 3 points.
A1 throws the ball from behind the arc. A2 tips the ball.  It goes in (try or not). 2 points.