The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 02:26pm
cingram
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Bizket786
If A1 runs out of bounds underneath the basket to recieve a pass from A2 that is considered a technical on A1 right?

Also if a player is running after a loose ball and come from out of bounds to get it that is a violation right?
It depends.

If A2 is out of bounds after a made basket, A1 may step out of bounds and receive the pass and continue the throw-in.

If the ball is inbounds and A1 in running around screens runs out of bounds before coming inbounds and catching the ball it is a T on A1.


In my experience not many players saving a loose ball from out of bounds will be able to turn around and gain control (at least not easily).

On that note, 9-3 states "A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds. NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds." If the player is not considered to be dribbling (in control of) the ball then I have no problem unless they don't establish in bounds position (at least one foot last tounched inbounds) then they can pick up the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1