The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 56
We have a close game, lead(score) changes 4 times within the last 3 min. of game. With 1 min. left Team A has the ball with the score tied, team A wants to run the clock down for 1 last shot. Now with with less than a min. left Team A assistant informs the coach that the score is wrong and that Team A is up by 1, now Team A coach decide to hold ball until 10 seconds left to ask the official to check the score saying that it is wrong and they should be up by 1.
After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1. Now Team B caoch is made because if he would of known that he would of foul team A to stop. Now my question is what is the ruling on this procedure? Team A caoch new that they were up by 1 so he purposely held the ball until the last 10 seconds before asking the official to check score.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Nothing you can do, I think. Play on.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,901
Tell the Team B coaching staff to be more observent! The rule was applied properly in this case. Yes, what the coach of Team A did was sneaky, but he knew and used the rules to his advantage.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 08:30am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by xxssmen
We have a close game, lead(score) changes 4 times within the last 3 min. of game. With 1 min. left Team A has the ball with the score tied, team A wants to run the clock down for 1 last shot. Now with with less than a min. left Team A assistant informs the coach that the score is wrong and that Team A is up by 1, now Team A coach decide to hold ball until 10 seconds left to ask the official to check the score saying that it is wrong and they should be up by 1.
After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1. Now Team B caoch is made because if he would of known that he would of foul team A to stop. Now my question is what is the ruling on this procedure? Team A caoch new that they were up by 1 so he purposely held the ball until the last 10 seconds before asking the official to check score.
Thanks for the coaching tip.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 04:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
He could have held it until the end of the game and done the same thing.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 08:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 27
How did you know that Team A knew the score was wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 09:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Rodego
How did you know that Team A knew the score was wrong?
Team A thought that they knew that the score was wrong. If they were wrong about that and the score was actually correct, then all it costs them is a charged TO. They would then still have the ball and last shot- score tied- with 10 seconds to go.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 09:27pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Did you remember to smack the scorer upside the head?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 12:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Rodego
How did you know that Team A knew the score was wrong?
Team A thought that they knew that the score was wrong. If they were wrong about that and the score was actually correct, then all it costs them is a charged TO. They would then still have the ball and last shot- score tied- with 10 seconds to go.
Huh?!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 07:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Why?

Quote:
Originally posted by xxssmen

After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1.
Why would the scorer re-add up all the points and alter the running score? Is not the running score the official score and the individual points just icing on the cake?
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 07:45am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: Why?

Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
Quote:
Originally posted by xxssmen

After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1.
Why would the scorer re-add up all the points and alter the running score? Is not the running score the official score and the individual points just icing on the cake?
The running score is used as the official score IF you can't find any discrepancy. If the scorer does find a mistake, and knows for sure that it is a mistake, then you can alter the book and the running score at any time to reflect that mistake. The R can only alter rthe book himself if he has specific knowledge that the scorer screwed up.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Re: Re: Why?

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
Quote:
Originally posted by xxssmen

After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1.
Why would the scorer re-add up all the points and alter the running score? Is not the running score the official score and the individual points just icing on the cake?
The running score is used as the official score IF you can't find any discrepancy. If the scorer does find a mistake, and knows for sure that it is a mistake, then you can alter the book and the running score at any time to reflect that mistake. The R can only alter rthe book himself if he has specific knowledge that the scorer screwed up.
I thought the official book was the official score, not the scoreboard. If there is a discrepancy and the official book differs from the scoreboard, the official book is what you go with. No?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,726
Re: Re: Re: Why?

Quote:
Originally posted by Smitty
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[B
The running score is used as the official score IF you can't find any discrepancy. If the scorer does find a mistake, and knows for sure that it is a mistake, then you can alter the book and the running score at any time to reflect that mistake. The R can only alter rthe book himself if he has specific knowledge that the scorer screwed up. [/B]
I thought the official book was the official score, not the scoreboard. If there is a discrepancy and the official book differs from the scoreboard, the official book is what you go with. No? [/B][/QUOTE]

That's correct. When JR was referring to the "running score" he was not referring to the scoreboard. He was referring to the "lines of numbers" at the top or side of the scorebook.

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Re: Re: Re: Re: Why?

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
That's correct. When JR was referring to the "running score" he was not referring to the scoreboard. He was referring to the "lines of numbers" at the top or side of the scorebook.

Ahhh, right. My mistake. I need to read more carefully.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,201
Re: Re: Re: Why?

Quote:
Originally posted by Smitty
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
Quote:
Originally posted by xxssmen

After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1.
Why would the scorer re-add up all the points and alter the running score? Is not the running score the official score and the individual points just icing on the cake?
The running score is used as the official score IF you can't find any discrepancy. If the scorer does find a mistake, and knows for sure that it is a mistake, then you can alter the book and the running score at any time to reflect that mistake. The R can only alter rthe book himself if he has specific knowledge that the scorer screwed up.
I thought the official book was the official score, not the scoreboard. If there is a discrepancy and the official book differs from the scoreboard, the official book is what you go with. No?
Only if you can't determine what the discrepancy is. If you can figure out which are in error, you go with whatever is correct.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1