The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2004, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Good point, Camron. I was assuming that the player doing the goaltending would be the first one into the lane, but that's not a valid assumption. Nice catch.
Except that 4-22 specifically says "... or an OPPONENT of the free thrower touches the ball ..."
Good point, Bob. I was assuming that Camron had read the rule, but that's not a valid assumption. Nice catch.

So. . . I was right in the first place, but for the wrong reason?
OK, then what do we have IF a teammate of the FT shooter does touch the ball outside of the cynlinder? The try would end at that point (definition of FT ending) so at a minimum, it would be a FT violation since the try ended without being successful or hitting the rim. Is that all?

As Bob pointed out, it appears it is NOT a GT violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1