The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 11:00am
Official Forum Member

This year we are suppose to be learning 3 person. Our association has not adopted three person yet, but they want us ready.

I have been officiating for 10 years now, but only two person. I tried 3 person at a camp four years ago and was totally lost. I got so comfortable in two person and didin't understand very well. (I know that practice will help, but I need more.) Some of my co-officals have said that they like 3 better than 2 and it is hard to swith between the two.

Does anyone have any advice for me?

Thanks
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 11:13am
Official Forum Member

Get as much information on it as possible.

it is a lot different to go back and forth between the two and three person crews, but once you learn all the things about it, it really is a lot better and you will not want to do nothing else but 3 person... Just try to watch a lot of it tv or whatever and go to as many camps as you can to learn as much as you can, ask a lot of questions..
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 11:13am
Official Forum Member

know your primary and stay in it, trust your partner just like in 2-man. seems like it would be alot easier with the extra set of eyes but we only have 3-man on select games (usually the bigger and faster teams) so you still gotta work hard to get angles. switches will come natural with practice. here in Missouri, we're going tableside so if you call the foul, the only switch is with tableside. the good news is that if it's new to your area, nobody besides the refs really know how it should go so just have fun with it.
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by condracek
Does anyone have any advice for me?