The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   walk or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15899-walk-not.html)

rockyroad Thu Oct 14, 2004 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
You guys are all missing the point. It's a trick question.

Quote:

Originally posted by jr
a1 takes a shot, a2 gets the rebound under team b's basket. upon going to lay the ball in (for some reason there was no team b player around), a1's shot falls short of the rim and the same player, a1, catches the attempt
If A is shooting at Team B's basket, there can be no try. :)

I'm not buying that that is what jr was trying to get at...because the original post has a2 getting the rebound and then a1 missing the lay-up and grabbing their own airball...that would be quite the play - unless of course a1 and a2 are Siamese twins??? Hmmm...

ChuckElias Thu Oct 14, 2004 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Yep, and Chuck's family is quite happy to have him as the fodder (hint hint..)
I'm gonna be the happy one tomorrow, b/c they've been away for the last 8 days and they'll be home tomorrow morning. :)

SavaahnTy Thu Oct 14, 2004 05:40pm

Wow....

Allow me to bring this post back to serious, because I have no sense of humor. :)

Ok, so regardless of whatever mixup we have going on in this play ( or how it is being explained to us ).. the final part is that A1 attempts a layup at B's basket, the attempt falls short, and A1 recovers the ball.

This is a violation. ( applicable rule below )

Another official brought a similar situation to my attention a couple days ago...

A1 ( idiot ) attempts a shot at B's basket. B1 ( bigger idiot ) fould A1 during shot. Ball goes in basket. ?????

Same rule applies. Common foul on B1, and the basket does not count. Spot throw in, or bonus, for A.


As a side note... did you know that even if A1 shoots and makes a three pointer on B2's basket, it is still only two points???? Definitely something I was not aware of :)

Savaahn Ty
" Just a student of the game, always looking to improve "

Rule 4, Section 67, Article 1, A.R. 40
A1 becomes confused and shoots the ball at the wrong basket. A1 is fouled while trying to shoot and the ball goes in the basket. Is this a goal? If A1 misses, should A1 be granted two free throws for the foul by the Team B player? RULING: No goal. The ball became dead when the foul occurred. When a player shoots at the opponentÂ’s basket, it
is not a try. When Team A is in the bonus when the Team B player fouls A1, A1 shall be awarded a one-and-one. When Team A is not in the bonus, the ball shall be awarded to
Team A at a designated spot.

dblref Fri Oct 15, 2004 05:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
He only said that the shot "was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head."
Maybe the guy is 7'6"! :)

I'm just raggin' BITS. Chuck wrote me and mentioned that I hadn't been posting much. So I gave him a little fodder. :D

But it still ain't traveling, even if under B's basket, if he doesn't move his pivot. ;)

I noticed you have been very "selective" in posting recently and thought you were too busy with football. Also saw a post by Padgett the other day. First one in a long time.

BktBallRef Fri Oct 15, 2004 06:56am

I have been, that's true.

But lately, this place bores the hell outta me! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1