The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   walk or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15899-walk-not.html)

jr Thu Oct 14, 2004 09:33am

nfhs rules, but want to know ncaa men also...

a1 takes a shot, a2 gets the rebound under team b's basket. upon going to lay the ball in (for some reason there was no team b player around), a1's shot falls short of the rim and the same player, a1, catches the attempt and lays it in. the attempt was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head.

walk or not?

JRutledge Thu Oct 14, 2004 09:38am

My question to you is why would this be traveling?

I will give you that answer anyway. :D

You cannot have traveling on a try when the shooter gets their own rebound. That is the rule at both NF and NCAA (Men's and Women's) levels. Team control has ended and anyone can get a rebound despite if the ball hits the rim or not.

Peace

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 14, 2004 09:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by jr
nfhs rules, but want to know ncaa men also...

a1 takes a shot, a2 gets the rebound under team b's basket. upon going to lay the ball in (for some reason there was no team b player around), a1's shot falls short of the rim and the same player, a1, catches the attempt and lays it in. the attempt was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head.

walk or not?

Hmmm, I'm having a hard time following you, so I'm going to answer based on what I think you're saying.

When you say "the attempt was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head," if by that you mean that the shot a1 put up only went a couple of feet into the air and wasn't really an attempted shot, then you've got a1 passing to him/herself. Violation.

If by that phrase you mean that when a1 got the rebound from a legitimate shot when s/he was only a couple of feet from the basket and had an easy lay up, it's as JRut said. Team control ends on a try, and any player, including the shooter may get the rebound.

BktBallRef Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:01am

Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

When you say "the attempt was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head," if by that you mean that the shot a1 put up only went a couple of feet into the air and wasn't really an attempted shot, then you've got a1 passing to him/herself. Violation.

C'mon, BITS. Don't confuse the issue. First, you say it's a shot, then you say it's really isn't. It tis or it tain't. Make up your mind. That isn't a pass to anyone, it's a shot. Why would a player stand in one place, toss the ball into the air for the sole purpose of catching it? BTW, where does he say that the pivot foot moved?

jr, if it's a legitimate shot attempt, then it's not a violation in college or high school.

____________________
There Chuckk, is that better!?! :D

ChuckElias Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:12am

You guys are all missing the point. It's a trick question.

Quote:

Originally posted by jr
a1 takes a shot, a2 gets the rebound under team b's basket. upon going to lay the ball in (for some reason there was no team b player around), a1's shot falls short of the rim and the same player, a1, catches the attempt
If A is shooting at Team B's basket, there can be no try. :)

jr Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:16am

good job, chuck...i was waiting for the correct answer...

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
C'mon, BITS. Don't confuse the issue. First, you say it's a shot, then you say it's really isn't. It tis or it tain't. Make up your mind. That isn't a pass to anyone, it's a shot. Why would a player stand in one place, toss the ball into the air for the sole purpose of catching it? BTW, where does he say that the pivot foot moved?

I didn't say it twas or it twasn't, and in fact, that was the gist of what I was saying. It's a judgement call. If it is a shot, you've got nothing. If it's a pass to himself, you've got a different situation.

Why would a player toss it to himself? The most obvious answer, to me, is an ill-conceived attempt to get a new dribble by faking a shot. BTW, he never said the player stood in one place and tossed the ball in the air for the purpose of catching it, and neither did I. He only said that the shot "was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head."

Dan_ref Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
You guys are all missing the point. It's a trick question.

Quote:

Originally posted by jr
a1 takes a shot, a2 gets the rebound under team b's basket. upon going to lay the ball in (for some reason there was no team b player around), a1's shot falls short of the rim and the same player, a1, catches the attempt
If A is shooting at Team B's basket, there can be no try. :)

Then something's wrong, because what A1 did initially is NOT a shot...or that ball has way too much air in it.

Anyway it might be fun watching Tony & BITS fight about this for a while... ;)

:Popcorn:

ChuckElias Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Then something's wrong, because what A1 did initially is NOT a shot...or that ball has way too much air in it.
A1 took a long 3-point try and A2 chased down the rebound in the backcourt? :)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 14, 2004 11:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
You guys are all missing the point. It's a trick question.

Quote:

Originally posted by jr
a1 takes a shot, a2 gets the rebound under team b's basket. upon going to lay the ball in (for some reason there was no team b player around), a1's shot falls short of the rim and the same player, a1, catches the attempt
If A is shooting at Team B's basket, there can be no try. :)


Chuck:

I am not getting involved in this thread, because it is all ready making my head hurt.

MTD, Sr.

BktBallRef Thu Oct 14, 2004 11:37am

Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
He only said that the shot "was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head."
Maybe the guy is 7'6"! :)

I'm just raggin' BITS. Chuck wrote me and mentioned that I hadn't been posting much. So I gave him a little fodder. :D

But it still ain't traveling, even if under B's basket, if he doesn't move his pivot. ;)

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 14, 2004 11:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
He only said that the shot "was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head."
Maybe the guy is 7'6"! :)

I'm just raggin' BITS. Chuck wrote me and mentioned that I hadn't been posting much. So I gave him a little fodder. :D

But it still ain't traveling, even if under B's basket, if he doesn't move his pivot. ;)

I hope Dan can get his money back on his popcorn. He was expecting this to go three rounds, at least ;)

And, obviously, you are correct about the pivot foot. I likely would have said it myself orginially if I had had my morning coffee by then.

Dan_ref Thu Oct 14, 2004 12:08pm



Ahhh...I can feel the love...everybody together! You know the words!

I'd like to teach the world to sing...

BTW Tony I believe Chuck already is a little fodder

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 14, 2004 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
BTW Tony I believe Chuck already is a little fodder
Can you say that here? I thought this was a family-friendly place :D

Dan_ref Thu Oct 14, 2004 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
BTW Tony I believe Chuck already is a little fodder
Can you say that here? I thought this was a family-friendly place :D

Yep, and Chuck's family is quite happy to have him as the fodder (hint hint..)

rockyroad Thu Oct 14, 2004 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
You guys are all missing the point. It's a trick question.

Quote:

Originally posted by jr
a1 takes a shot, a2 gets the rebound under team b's basket. upon going to lay the ball in (for some reason there was no team b player around), a1's shot falls short of the rim and the same player, a1, catches the attempt
If A is shooting at Team B's basket, there can be no try. :)

I'm not buying that that is what jr was trying to get at...because the original post has a2 getting the rebound and then a1 missing the lay-up and grabbing their own airball...that would be quite the play - unless of course a1 and a2 are Siamese twins??? Hmmm...

ChuckElias Thu Oct 14, 2004 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Yep, and Chuck's family is quite happy to have him as the fodder (hint hint..)
I'm gonna be the happy one tomorrow, b/c they've been away for the last 8 days and they'll be home tomorrow morning. :)

SavaahnTy Thu Oct 14, 2004 05:40pm

Wow....

Allow me to bring this post back to serious, because I have no sense of humor. :)

Ok, so regardless of whatever mixup we have going on in this play ( or how it is being explained to us ).. the final part is that A1 attempts a layup at B's basket, the attempt falls short, and A1 recovers the ball.

This is a violation. ( applicable rule below )

Another official brought a similar situation to my attention a couple days ago...

A1 ( idiot ) attempts a shot at B's basket. B1 ( bigger idiot ) fould A1 during shot. Ball goes in basket. ?????

Same rule applies. Common foul on B1, and the basket does not count. Spot throw in, or bonus, for A.


As a side note... did you know that even if A1 shoots and makes a three pointer on B2's basket, it is still only two points???? Definitely something I was not aware of :)

Savaahn Ty
" Just a student of the game, always looking to improve "

Rule 4, Section 67, Article 1, A.R. 40
A1 becomes confused and shoots the ball at the wrong basket. A1 is fouled while trying to shoot and the ball goes in the basket. Is this a goal? If A1 misses, should A1 be granted two free throws for the foul by the Team B player? RULING: No goal. The ball became dead when the foul occurred. When a player shoots at the opponentÂ’s basket, it
is not a try. When Team A is in the bonus when the Team B player fouls A1, A1 shall be awarded a one-and-one. When Team A is not in the bonus, the ball shall be awarded to
Team A at a designated spot.

dblref Fri Oct 15, 2004 05:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
He only said that the shot "was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head."
Maybe the guy is 7'6"! :)

I'm just raggin' BITS. Chuck wrote me and mentioned that I hadn't been posting much. So I gave him a little fodder. :D

But it still ain't traveling, even if under B's basket, if he doesn't move his pivot. ;)

I noticed you have been very "selective" in posting recently and thought you were too busy with football. Also saw a post by Padgett the other day. First one in a long time.

BktBallRef Fri Oct 15, 2004 06:56am

I have been, that's true.

But lately, this place bores the hell outta me! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1