The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Lotto,

I am going to have to respectfully disagree with you on the interpret on this one. If you look at the Rule pertaining to bouncing the ball off of the OPPONENTS backboard, it gives you:

1) specific reason why the act is illegal
- bouncing ball off Opps bckbrd constitutes dribble

2) specific violation to call
- double dribble


The rule that we have been looking at to decide about the players own backboard does not give either of these specifics. It simply gives a situation.

But I think that the defining point here is this:
Upon saying that the situation in AR 43 is legal, it doesnt say that it is legal because the player is airborne, or anything else.

It says that " The play shall be legal since the backboard is equipment located in A1’s half of the playing court, which A1 is entitled to use. "

Thats it. It there and he's entitled to use it.

I think Chuck's use of the similar situation of throwing the ball off of his opponent is perfect.

That said, you better eitherhave your rulebook with you, or be able to site the entire rule by heart if a player figures this rule out.. gets trapped with nothing to do...and throws it to himself off of the backboard....and B Coach is going absolutely APE SH** because you didnt call SOMETHING!!

Savaahn Ty
" Just a student of the game, always looking to improve "

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1