The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
In the A.R. I cited, it is explicitly stated that the player is airborne when he catches and dunks.
Being airborne or not is irrelevant. If throwing against your own backboard was a dribble, then it would still be a double dribble even if you caught the second "dribble" while airborne.

Quote:
So what is the status of a player throwing the ball off of his/her own backboard?
It's as if you took a shot. Or maybe not, b/c there's still team control. It's as if you intentionally threw the ball off your opponent. You can catch it and dribble, shoot, pivot, whatever.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1