The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 23, 2004, 11:15am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias

I believe that any player directed to leave the game (for blood or injury) is allowed to stay in the game if s/he is ready to play at the end of a TO, regardless of which team requested it.

If anybody has better information, I would love to hear it.
OK!

This year's rulebook- amended and clarified NFHS R3-3-6NOTE- "If players from both teams are directed to leave the game because of injury/blood, both teams must request and be granted a time-out in order to keep each player in the game".

It's also mentioned in the front as a "2004-05 Major Editorial Change"--i.e. "Added a new note clarifying that both teams must request a time-out to keep two opposing players in the game that were both directed to leave for injury/blood".
As usual, there is still some vagueness in there. But I'm assuming that now NFHS wants us to give a full two-minutes to both teams and that A1 and B1 each have to be ready to play after BOTH time-outs are over. I think that is a much better solution than the previous interpretation.

The way that I understand it, each team will get a full 30 or 60 second TO, whichever one that they requested, and that at the end of that TO, the team that requested that TO must have their player ready to go- or they must substitute or call another, consecutive TO. So if A is awarded the first TO, then the A player must be set to go at the end of that TO. Then B gets their TO, and their player must also be ready to go at the end of their charged TO. Iow, yes, the team getting the second TO will get the advantage of the other team's TO to start getting their player ready, but once they called their TO, they're gonna get charged with it and they gotta take it- even if their player is ready.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Sep 23rd, 2004 at 12:35 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1