The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by tjchamp
I was taking one of the on-line quizzes at the referee.com site. I'd like to get some clarification.

On A-1's throw in, the ball is outside the cylinder when B2 reaches through the basket from below and knocks the ball away before it can reach the cylinder. What's the call. The answer indicates basket interference. I'm just wondering how that can be the call since A-1 can't make a basket on a throw in.
I suppose if the ball hasn't gotten to the cylinder yet, it's not a shot yet. Team A could be trying for an alley-oop, or he could be trying to throw it over the basket. Since this can't be a legal try, you don't have a violation by A unless the ball actually goes into the net. But B has committed a violation regardless. It's always illegal to reach up through the net and contact the ball. I'm not sure it's BI, though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1