The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2001, 01:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 252
Question

This one sent me to my book! I was watching from the stands.... The visiting guard stole the ball above the 3-point arc. He made a wild cross-court pass to a team-mate breaking down court. The pass was too high and headed OOB. The second player jumped and batted the ball toward the hoop, then came down and his momentum carried him OOB. He returned inbounds and was the first to touch the ball, dribbling in the the lay-up. Ref right on the play made no call.

Best I can tell, reverse inference from the case book says this is correct. Explanations seem to indicate that if a player never establishes "player control", and goes out of bounds involunteerily (i.e., from momentum), then the player can return in bounds and be first to touch the ball.

Come to think of it, I couldn't find in the rule book where a player dribbling the ball is not allowed to unintentionally leave the court, then return inbounds before touching the ball, and continue. My recollection, however, is that this is an OOB call.

Comments?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1