The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2001, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Here's another thought on the subject. Just as a long pass (clearly not a "shot" in the official's mind) that ends up going through the basket is, by rule anyway, only 2 points (let's not go there again, though), the player's throwing the ball against the backboard in this original post might legitimately NOT be considered a shot (even if he is fouled during the act). However, the key here is that the OPPONENT'S backboard is considered the same as the floor, but a player's OWN backboard is not. Thus, if he throws it against the opponent's board, it is part of a dribble (either a continuation of the same dribble, or the start of a new dribble). But since his own board is not the same as the floor, he can throw the ball against it, catch it, repeat the move, etc. without violating. It is treated the same as a shot with respect to retrieving the ball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1