![]() |
Let's modify the second foul. No LGP was established and a blocking foul called. If in bonus, does shooter get the two from the first hack, and the bonus throws?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
However, unless both fouls are extreme, ignoring one (usually the 2nd) is the standard...even in the case when the 2nd player had LGP. |
Quote:
NCAAM has the airborne shooter rule, it's identical to ncaaw. 4.1. As you pointed out it's the PC rule that's different. |
Quote:
NCAAM has the airborne shooter rule, it's identical to ncaaw. 4.1.[/B][/QUOTE] They both define an airborne shooter, I'll grant you that. I was wording it the same way the chart of rules differences does it. Airborne shooter NFHS: In air after release of try or tap; NCAA Men: No rule. We're saying the same thing from different angles, I think. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
This is why I didn't blow the whistle during the game. However, after going through the experience I have now changed my mind about this play. I now firmly believe that the 2nd foul should be called. I learned that it wasn't a big deal when we did it, and it is afterall the correct call. Put me in the camp that votes not to ignore that second foul. BTW, if the 2nd foul is a block, the play becomes a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty, just like a false double, so the shooter would get FOUR shots for an unsuccessful try or the basket and TWO shots (one for each foul) if the goal was made. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The false multiple would be when B1 fouls A1 on the shot. Then, during/after the FT but before the clock starts, B2 fouls A1. |
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]Agree with that completely. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
"FALSE MULTIPLE FOUL 4.19.11 Situation: B1 fouls airborne A1 who is in the act of shooting. Before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor, he/she is fouled by B2 who has moved into A1's landing area. The ball: (a) does; or (b) does not, enter the basket. RULING: This is a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty. In (a), the goal is counted and A1 is awarded on free throw for each foul. In (b), A1 is awarded two free throws for each foul. (10-6 Pen 5a; 7)" It's not often that JR forgets about a case book play! He's usually the one quoting them to us. ;) |
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]Dumb rule. :D Good catch, Nevada. |
Well, well, I stand corrected. :D
|
Is it really the opinion of those involved with this thread to call both of these fouls? I can't picture the play or the reason for doing anything besides calling the first foul. It seems to me that this could be called often but it isn't. There are many times when a shooter gets fouled by multiple teammates and one foul is called. Is the play you are talking about different?
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43pm. |