The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 10, 2001, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally posted by Danvrapp
Had a player last night in a 6th grade girls game do this. She was dribbling down court, pulled up with a jump stop at the foul line...and decided NOT to shoot. She then proceded to pivot to look for a pass. Once I saw the pivot, I called a travel. Rule book 4.43.4a says When neither foot can be a pivot 'One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.' I didn't get any flak from the coach, but the parents were all over it! I felt I made the right call...?
As long as you are sure it was a jump stop (jumping off the pivot and landing on both feet simultaneously), it was the right call. Mostly, especially at younger levels, I see the player merely coming to a stop when either foot can be the pivot foot.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1