![]() |
|
|||
![]()
I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I could not find it on a search.
#1. A1 is dribbling in BC. B1 knocks the ball away. A1 recovers in BC. Does the 10 second count restart? #2. A1 dribbling in BC. B1 knocks ball out of bounds. Does the 10 sec. count restart? #3. A1 dribbling in BC. Time out called and granted. Does 10 sec. count restart upon completion of throw-in into BC? #4. A1 dribbling in BC. B1 grabs ball, then A1 steals ball back. Does 10 sec count restart? Where in the rulebook of officials manual is this clearly documented (or do I need a casebook also). |
|
|||
A quick look
#1: Don't restart count, team B never had control.
#2: Yes restart count, any time you have a new throw in start new count. #3: Yes restart count, same as above. #4: Yes restart count, team B gain control and then team A took it back. casebook 9.8c answers the timeout and the ball out of bounds question. The other two I haven't found yet. Someone help me out.
__________________
Call what you see! |
|
|||
Parkssa: Casebook 9.98c covers the time-out and B deflecting the ball oob. I'd say in all but #1 the count starts over but in that case possession was never ended by A so you would continue the count.
1 no 2 yes 3 yes 4 yes |
|
|||
![]()
Supperef do you really suspend the count until A recovers? I thought team A is still in control in the backcourt so the count should continue.
I'm not sure though, just a thought.
__________________
Call what you see! |
|
|||
Re: Are you sure?
Quote:
You and co2 got it right, based on continuous team control. mick |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I'll have to check
Due to the reaction I may have the interpretation wrong. I thought that just like 3 seconds, a loose ball suspended the count. Thanks for the heads up! When I get the answer I'll post another reply.
By the way this automatic e-mail notification is great!!! |
|
|||
I stand corrected.....
I humbley ask forgiveness for posting false information. Contrary to popular belief from the recent coaches poll, there are many knowledgeable officials out there. I called my board interpreter, his answer was, a TEAM has 10 seconds to get the ball into the frontcourt but an individual player has 3 seconds in the lane. Do not suspend 10 second count on loose ball, but do suspend 3 second count on loose ball. This website will make me a better official.
Thanks again. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
But we can end a 3 sec. on an interrupted dribble, yo? mick |
|
|||
Re: Rule 9.7 Okay....
Quote:
Is there a rule where we actually suspend (that is, stop and then re-start at the point of suspension) the count somewhere? mick |
|
|||
Suspended count
Mick,
I can't say as I've ever seen it in black and white. I'll try to get back to our interpreter but during one of our clinics he told us if A1 has the ball in the lane and he loses control/fumbles, suspend the count, if he recovers he better shoot or get out of there. When I get a clear answer I'll re-post. |
|
|||
There is a provision in the casebook at the end of
9.7b for suspension of the 3 sec count for a player with the ball in the restricted area. This allows that player who may have been in the lane then got the ball a chance for a try. When this happens you suspend the count if the palyer attempts a try no penalty if they pass hit em with the 3. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|