The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10 Second Violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1411-10-second-violation.html)

ScottParks Tue Jan 09, 2001 09:55am

I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I could not find it on a search.

#1. A1 is dribbling in BC. B1 knocks the ball away. A1 recovers in BC. Does the 10 second count restart?

#2. A1 dribbling in BC. B1 knocks ball out of bounds. Does the 10 sec. count restart?

#3. A1 dribbling in BC. Time out called and granted. Does 10 sec. count restart upon completion of throw-in into BC?

#4. A1 dribbling in BC. B1 grabs ball, then A1 steals ball back. Does 10 sec count restart?

Where in the rulebook of officials manual is this clearly documented (or do I need a casebook also).

Suppref Tue Jan 09, 2001 10:24am

#1 suspend count the pick up where left off when A recovers.
#2 New 10 second count
#3 New 10 second count
#4 New 10 second count

NFHS Case book 9.8.a-c

glind Tue Jan 09, 2001 10:25am

A quick look
 
#1: Don't restart count, team B never had control.

#2: Yes restart count, any time you have a new throw in start new count.

#3: Yes restart count, same as above.

#4: Yes restart count, team B gain control and then team A took it back.

casebook 9.8c answers the timeout and the ball out of bounds question.

The other two I haven't found yet.
Someone help me out.

co2ice Tue Jan 09, 2001 10:25am

Parkssa: Casebook 9.98c covers the time-out and B deflecting the ball oob. I'd say in all but #1 the count starts over but in that case possession was never ended by A so you would continue the count.
1 no
2 yes
3 yes
4 yes

glind Tue Jan 09, 2001 10:29am

Are you sure?
 
Supperef do you really suspend the count until A recovers? I thought team A is still in control in the backcourt so the count should continue.

I'm not sure though, just a thought.

mick Tue Jan 09, 2001 10:33am

Re: Are you sure?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by glind
Supperef do you really suspend the count until A recovers? I thought team A is still in control in the backcourt so the count should continue.

I'm not sure though, just a thought.

glind,
You and co2 got it right, based on continuous team control.
mick

BktBallRef Tue Jan 09, 2001 11:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by Suppref
#1 suspend count the pick up where left off when A recovers.
NFHS Case book 9.8.a-c

Sup, hopefully you'll reconsider this one. Since there is no loss of TEAM control, the count should continue. I had one of these a couple of years ago in a playoff game. The coach went nuts. My partner asked him, "Was there a loss of team control, Coach?" He quietly sat down. Don't penalize the defense for a nice play by starting the count over.

Suppref Tue Jan 09, 2001 11:30am

I'll have to check
 
Due to the reaction I may have the interpretation wrong. I thought that just like 3 seconds, a loose ball suspended the count. Thanks for the heads up! When I get the answer I'll post another reply.

By the way this automatic e-mail notification is great!!!

Suppref Tue Jan 09, 2001 11:55am

I stand corrected.....
 
I humbley ask forgiveness for posting false information. Contrary to popular belief from the recent coaches poll, there are many knowledgeable officials out there. I called my board interpreter, his answer was, a TEAM has 10 seconds to get the ball into the frontcourt but an individual player has 3 seconds in the lane. Do not suspend 10 second count on loose ball, but do suspend 3 second count on loose ball. This website will make me a better official.
Thanks again.

BigDave Tue Jan 09, 2001 01:00pm

to the corrected/humbled Supp...
 
...you are now authorized to submit informative posts again. :p

mick Tue Jan 09, 2001 01:32pm

3 sec.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Suppref
I humbley ask forgiveness for posting false information. Contrary to popular belief from the recent coaches poll, there are many knowledgeable officials out there. I called my board interpreter, his answer was, a TEAM has 10 seconds to get the ball into the frontcourt but an individual player has 3 seconds in the lane. Do not suspend 10 second count on loose ball, but do suspend 3 second count on loose ball. This website will make me a better official.
Thanks again.

Suppref,
But we can end a 3 sec. on an interrupted dribble, yo?
mick

Suppref Tue Jan 09, 2001 02:11pm

Rule 9.7
 
The count shall not begin or it shall be terminated during an interrupted dribble.

mick Tue Jan 09, 2001 02:15pm

Re: Rule 9.7 Okay....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Suppref
The count shall not begin or it shall be terminated during an interrupted dribble.
Suppref,
Is there a rule where we actually suspend (that is, stop and then re-start at the point of suspension) the count somewhere?
mick

Suppref Tue Jan 09, 2001 02:30pm

Suspended count
 
Mick,
I can't say as I've ever seen it in black and white. I'll try to get back to our interpreter but during one of our clinics he told us if A1 has the ball in the lane and he loses control/fumbles, suspend the count, if he recovers he better shoot or get out of there. When I get a clear answer I'll re-post.

PAULK1 Tue Jan 09, 2001 11:38pm

There is a provision in the casebook at the end of
9.7b for suspension of the 3 sec count for a player with the ball in the restricted area. This allows that player who may have been in the lane then got the ball a chance for a try.
When this happens you suspend the count if the palyer attempts a try no penalty if they pass hit em with the 3.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1