The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2004, 10:01am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
The frist time the coach whistled to get his players attention I would put a stop to it right then and there. Why? Personal experience.

Four years ago, I am officiating a boys' H.S. varsity game in Michigan. We are in the second quarter of a close game. I am the T (table side) and A1 has the ball at the top of the key. Coach A whistle's very loudly (there was not that big of a crowd because it was a Christmas Holiday tournament with four small Christian schools playing). The whistle took me by suprise, but more importantly, the Team B players relaxed for a moment because they thought that my partner or I had sounded our whistle, and A1 blew past his defender for a lay-up. My partner looked at me with that "what the hell just happened" look and we stopped the game immediately. Thats when Coach A admitted that he always whistles to get his players attention, but my partner and I were not buying that excuse. We disallowed the layup and T'd up the coach for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Uhmmmm...just wondering what rule you used to justify those actions, and why you would not only take points off the board but also T the coach...
Well, Rocky, Mark can always justify the T under Rule 10-4-1 by saying "In my, MTD Sr's opinion, that is an unsporting act". It doesn't matter if there isn't another official in the Free World that would agree that it was an unsporting act, he does have that leeway the way that R10-4-1 is written. It was written to leave what an "unsporting act" may also be, other than the examples listed, up to the calling official. Iow, you can second-guess his judgement( which I certainly do also), but he does have the right, by rule, to call a T if he wants. Like you say, though, there is no rule in the the book that I know of that would then allow him to take the basket away when the whistle was blown AFTER it was scored. Mark, exactly what rule did you use to take away the points?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1