The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 28, 2004, 09:43am
Tee Tee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 58
A little confused on the basics

Could you please explain under NFHS- at what point after a made basket can the defensive team be granted a time out?

Ball drops out of the basket-

Offensive player grabs ball and heads for the baseline-

Offensive player is set up to throw ball inbounds-

I have always used the "at the disposal of the thrower" to mean a reasonable amount of time to recover the ball- at that point I begin my count. I guess if I'm counting that means no timeout?

Sometimes the thrower chooses not to pick up the ball, hoping I will delay my count until he has the ball in his hand- can a timeout be granted to the defensive team then? I will be counting...

Another complication- the thrower throws the ball to me (as they do occasionally) does this affect the count? I see many officials begin the count at that point- thus effectivly allowing an extra second or so to the thrower.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1