The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jan 05, 2001, 09:37am
Official Forum Member

Smile

All ~
Last night I officiated a 8th grade classic girls game. It was the end of the third quarter and the red team was leading the green team by about 20. Green team has the ball under their own hoop and take's a shot at the buzzer. I was lead offical at this point. To my best judgement the shot was not released before the horn, (although I admit it was very close) I waived off the shot, the ball scored. The crowd gave me a HARD time for not "Giving" it to them. No protest from either coach. I met with my partner who is a 20 veteran and he said "you could of gave that to them the coach of the Red team probably wound not have cared". So all that said and remembering I'm still in my first year. Once I finish games I'm real hard on myself and go over the game in my head recounting certain senario's. I enjoy officaiting with seasoned officails because I'm learning alot from them and appreciate it. So I'm still officating with my instinct and with the ruling knowledge that I have thus far, and not with emotion. What would you do ? Do you give them the shot because the score margin is so large , give lee-way. I mean, I was confused / shocked when my partner said that to me, and he was serious.
Old Fri Jan 05, 2001, 09:56am
Official Forum Member

No, I would not give them the basket. You may ignore a few fouls or minor violations in a blowout. But don't count baskets that shouldn't count.

More importantly, why are you counting or cancelling the basket from lead?
Old Fri Jan 05, 2001, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Tim, I have the same question as Tony. As lead with ball
in the front court you have no business deciding if the last second basket is good or not. (I'm kinda surprised