![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Now the rule reads (something like) "The shot clock shall be reset when the other team gets control." Before the last couple of years, when did the Team B get *control* after an offensive (Team A) violation? After the throw-in (in a general sense). What if Team A intercepted the throw-in? Should the shot-clock be reset? Not without the "reset upon a violation" wording. Yes, it could be clearer. But, I think that's why it's there. |
|
|||
Quote:
:shrug: I wouldn't get too bogged down in this for now. Just understand how the clock is to be handled.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Bob -- Your point makes sense to me. Thanks.
Thanks for this discussion. I can see I've got some studying ahead of me. Quote:
[Edited by rainmaker on May 17th, 2004 at 11:42 AM] |
|
|||
Quote:
...and that's MR Scooter to you! ![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Purely from a statistician's standpoint, I wouldn't call the situation a change of possession. Under the circumstances, I wouldn't give the defensive player a steal and a turnover because it doesn't seem like "control" applies. Nor would I give the offensive player a turnover.
__________________
If you can't be a good example, then you'll just have to be a horrible warning. - Catherine Aird |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() mick |
|
|||
Quote:
The rules definition of player control is "holding or dribbling the ball". That fits all the situations above. |
|
|||
Quote:
Under statistical rules, this is a turnover for A, and a steal and turnover for B. B1 had player control of the ball. It can't be ignored. |
|
|||
I saw a play along similar lines. High school rules, the opening tip is going out of bounds before either team can gain control. Player for Team A grabs the ball while airborne before he lands OOB he saves it to Player B. In this case the AP arrow was set to Team B. I believe that would be correct.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|