![]() |
Quote:
Now the rule reads (something like) "The shot clock shall be reset when the other team gets control." Before the last couple of years, when did the Team B get *control* after an offensive (Team A) violation? After the throw-in (in a general sense). What if Team A intercepted the throw-in? Should the shot-clock be reset? Not without the "reset upon a violation" wording. Yes, it could be clearer. But, I think that's why it's there. |
Quote:
:shrug: I wouldn't get too bogged down in this for now. Just understand how the clock is to be handled. |
Quote:
|
Bob -- Your point makes sense to me. Thanks.
Thanks for this discussion. I can see I've got some studying ahead of me. Quote:
[Edited by rainmaker on May 17th, 2004 at 11:42 AM] |
Quote:
...and that's MR Scooter to you! :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Purely from a statistician's standpoint, I wouldn't call the situation a change of possession. Under the circumstances, I wouldn't give the defensive player a steal and a turnover because it doesn't seem like "control" applies. Nor would I give the offensive player a turnover.
|
Quote:
mick |
Quote:
The rules definition of player control is "holding or dribbling the ball". That fits all the situations above. |
theboys,
I agree with the others, I don't see how you can avoid calling it a steal/turnover. It's not as if the play is unaffected, since A gets a new shotclock. B1 worked to get the steal, give it to her. Now, she neglects to pass it before landing OOB, give her the turnover. Would you give it to her if her first foot landed in bounds and her second foot landed OOB? What about both feet in and then dribbles OOB? It seems to me the logical and reasonable definition should be whether she establishes player control. She did. |
Quote:
Under statistical rules, this is a turnover for A, and a steal and turnover for B. B1 had player control of the ball. It can't be ignored. |
I saw a play along similar lines. High school rules, the opening tip is going out of bounds before either team can gain control. Player for Team A grabs the ball while airborne before he lands OOB he saves it to Player B. In this case the AP arrow was set to Team B. I believe that would be correct.
|
Looks right to me, Rick. Same concept.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19pm. |