The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   AAU Ramblings and a Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/13677-aau-ramblings-play.html)

BktBallRef Sat May 15, 2004 04:41pm

From the bleachers

"Hey! She can't roll the ball. That's illegal," after a player who recovered the ball while sitting on the floor rolled the ball to a teammate.

"Call it I both ends!" after I had just called the 9th tem foul on her team. Oh, the opposing team had 10 team fouls.

"She traveled!" after Team A used a TO after a basket and A1 ran the baseline on the ensuing throw-in.

"She went OOB! She can come back in and be the first player to touch the ball. She can't do that!"

:( :( :( :(

Play: NCAA Women's Rules

A1 in bounds the ball to A2 who dribbles down the floor.
She passes the ball toward A3.
B1 leaps and intercepts the ball while in flight, before landing OOB.
Is the shot clock reset before A inbounds the ball?
Rule reference please.

Dan_ref Sat May 15, 2004 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
From the bleachers

"Hey! She can't roll the ball. That's illegal," after a player who recovered the ball while sitting on the floor rolled the ball to a teammate.

"Call it I both ends!" after I had just called the 9th tem foul on her team. Oh, the opposing team had 10 team fouls.

I love this one.

Towards the end of my season last year I was working a ncaa game when a player told me I gotta cal it both ways. I pointed to the scoreboard which had fouls at 9 each and asked him how it could be more both ways. He smiled and hugged me. :)
Quote:

Play: NCAA Women's Rules

A1 in bounds the ball to A2 who dribbles down the floor.
She passes the ball toward A3.
B1 leaps and intercepts the ball while in flight, before landing OOB.
Is the shot clock reset before A inbounds the ball?
Rule reference please.
NCAA 2-13-6a

Stop the timing device and reset it when team control is re-established after the team loses possession of the ball.

So in your case as soon as B established team control the shot clock is reset to 30 for women or 35 for men.

Jimgolf Sat May 15, 2004 06:15pm

Quote:

Rule 2-13 Art. 6. Stop the timing device and reset it:
a. When team control is re-established after the team loses possession
of the ball;
b. When a foul occurs (Exceptions: Rules 2-13.7.e and .f);
c. When a held ball occurs (Exceptions: Rule 2-13.7.d and 2-13.7.g);
d. When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange, or
e. When a violation occurs.
f. When an inadvertent whistle occurs and there was no player or team control at the time of the whistle.
Isn't out of bounds a violation?

Dan_ref Sat May 15, 2004 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Rule 2-13 Art. 6. Stop the timing device and reset it:
a. When team control is re-established after the team loses possession
of the ball;
b. When a foul occurs (Exceptions: Rules 2-13.7.e and .f);
c. When a held ball occurs (Exceptions: Rule 2-13.7.d and 2-13.7.g);
d. When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange, or
e. When a violation occurs.
f. When an inadvertent whistle occurs and there was no player or team control at the time of the whistle.
Isn't out of bounds a violation?

Yeah but the change in possesion happened first.

For run of the mill deflected OOB see 2-13-7a.

Dan_ref Sat May 15, 2004 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef

Play: NCAA Women's Rules

A1 in bounds the ball to A2 who dribbles down the floor.
She passes the ball toward A3.
B1 leaps and intercepts the ball while in flight, before landing OOB.
Is the shot clock reset before A inbounds the ball?
Rule reference please.

2-13-6 Stop the timing device and reset it ...(a) when team control is re-established after the team loses possession of the ball.

mick

We're on the same page, you just got there first... ;)

TravelinMan Sat May 15, 2004 06:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Rule 2-13 Art. 6. Stop the timing device and reset it:
a. When team control is re-established after the team loses possession
of the ball;
b. When a foul occurs (Exceptions: Rules 2-13.7.e and .f);
c. When a held ball occurs (Exceptions: Rule 2-13.7.d and 2-13.7.g);
d. When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange, or
e. When a violation occurs.
f. When an inadvertent whistle occurs and there was no player or team control at the time of the whistle.
Isn't out of bounds a violation?

Jim, team A lost posession when team B intercepted ball and re-established team contol. B then went OOB. A gets the ball but clock is reset at point where B intercepted (re-established team control).

__________________________________________________ _______
"To know the road ahead, ask those coming back."--Chinese proverb


mick Sat May 15, 2004 07:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

We're on the same page, you just got there first... ;)

I concede.

Jurassic Referee Sat May 15, 2004 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

We're on the same page, you just got there first... ;)

I concede.

You're conceded.

BktBallRef Sat May 15, 2004 07:51pm

The two NCAA officials I was working with stated that since B1 didn't land inbounds, she never had possession. :(

I responded, "Would you have granted a TO if she had signalled before she landed?"

"Yes."

"That's right, because she had team control and player control. So why is it different when she doesn't request TO?"

"Because she landed OOB."

:(


mick Sat May 15, 2004 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
We're on the same page, you just got there first... ;)
I concede. [/B][/QUOTE]You're conceded. [/B][/QUOTE]

"I used to be conceited, but now I am perfect."

mick Sat May 15, 2004 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The two NCAA officials I was working with stated that since B1 didn't land inbounds, she never had possession. :(

I responded, "Would you have granted a TO if she had signalled before she landed?"

"Yes."

"That's right, because she had team control and player control. So why is it different when she doesn't request TO?"

"Because she landed OOB."

:(


Get in.
Get done.
Get out.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat May 15, 2004 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The two NCAA officials I was working with stated that since B1 didn't land inbounds, she never had possession. :(

I responded, "Would you have granted a TO if she had signalled before she landed?"

"Yes."

"That's right, because she had team control and player control. So why is it different when she doesn't request TO?"

"Because she landed OOB."

:(




Normally, I do not advocate violence, but you have my permission, this one time to slap them both silly upside their heads.

MTD, Sr.

BktBallRef Sat May 15, 2004 10:00pm

Well, I'll see one of 'em tomorrow. http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/stick.gif

Nevadaref Sun May 16, 2004 01:22am

It probably happened too fast for it to matter, but wouldn't the shot clock actually be reset twice on this play. First reset is when B intercepts the ball, so the shot clock is now counting down for team B's possession. Then a second reset when the player lands OOB. This reset gives team A a fresh shot clock for their ensuing possession.
You wouldn't want to be giving the ball to team A with one second gone from the shot clock after the OOB violation, right?

rainmaker Sun May 16, 2004 07:37am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The two NCAA officials I was working with stated that since B1 didn't land inbounds, she never had possession. :(

I responded, "Would you have granted a TO if she had signalled before she landed?"

"Yes."

"That's right, because she had team control and player control. So why is it different when she doesn't request TO?"

"Because she landed OOB."

:(


But as someone cited above, doesn't an OOB still call for a re-set?

BktBallRef Sun May 16, 2004 07:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
But as someone cited above, doesn't an OOB still call for a re-set?
No. If B had simply deflected the ball OOB, the shot clock would not have been reset.

rainmaker Sun May 16, 2004 09:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Rule 2-13 Art. 6. Stop the timing device and reset it:
a. When team control is re-established after the team loses possession
of the ball;
b. When a foul occurs (Exceptions: Rules 2-13.7.e and .f);
c. When a held ball occurs (Exceptions: Rule 2-13.7.d and 2-13.7.g);
d. When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange, or
e. When a violation occurs.
f. When an inadvertent whistle occurs and there was no player or team control at the time of the whistle.
Isn't out of bounds a violation?

So, Tony, in NCAA, is oob a violation? is it a violation generally, but not for the purposes of the shot clock?

BktBallRef Sun May 16, 2004 10:21am

NCAA 2-13-7a
Stop the timing device and continue time without a reset when play begins under the following circumstances:
a. The ball is deflected out of bounds by a defensive player.

mick Sun May 16, 2004 10:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker


So, Tony, in NCAA, is oob a violation? is it a violation generally, but not for the purposes of the shot clock?

Jewel,
Like Tony mentioned previously, team control changed.
<LI>A did have team control before the interception. [A shot clock : 24.]
<LI>B had the ball, not Team A (change of control), when the violation occurred.[B shot clock: 29.2]
<LI>A throws the ball in on B violation; change of control [A shot clock: 30]

I know you know. :)
mick

BktBallRef Sun May 16, 2004 09:08pm

Saw my two partners today. One told me I was right before I could even bring it up. I gave the other the rule reference.

Today, we had a 5 second count on a held ball throw-in. i told the timer to switch the arow. Wroking with the smae partner who conceded I was right about the shot clock play. He questioned me as to whether it should be switched or not. I stood my ground.

We switched the arrow. :)

It's amazing that some very good officials have to discuss these things out, when those of us who frequent discussion boards...well, it's second nature to us. ;)

mick Sun May 16, 2004 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Saw my two partners today. One told me I was right before I could even bring it up. I gave the other the rule reference.

Today, we had a 5 second count on a held ball throw-in. i told the timer to switch the arow. Wroking with the smae partner who conceded I was right about the shot clock play. He questioned me as to whether it should be switched or not. I stood my ground.

We switched the arrow. :)

It's amazing that some very good officials have to discuss these things out, when those of us who frequent discussion boards...well, it's second nature to us. ;)

I love it when things happen as they should. :)

rainmaker Sun May 16, 2004 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker


So, Tony, in NCAA, is oob a violation? is it a violation generally, but not for the purposes of the shot clock?

Jewel,
Like Tony mentioned previously, team control changed.
<LI>A did have team control before the interception. [A shot clock : 24.]
<LI>B had the ball, not Team A (change of control), when the violation occurred.[B shot clock: 29.2]
<LI>A throws the ball in on B violation; change of control [A shot clock: 30]

I know you know. :)
mick

Actually, mick, I don't know. I've always ignored any discussion of NCAA rules, because I just didn't need the extra data taking up synapses in my brain. But the theory is that someday, I may get a few college games (maybe even this fall????) and I'll need to know this stuff. So I'm starting to pay attention and ask questions. Especially shot-clock stuff can't hurt, since it isn't going to get confused with anything else.

Dan_ref Sun May 16, 2004 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Rule 2-13 Art. 6. Stop the timing device and reset it:
a. When team control is re-established after the team loses possession
of the ball;
b. When a foul occurs (Exceptions: Rules 2-13.7.e and .f);
c. When a held ball occurs (Exceptions: Rule 2-13.7.d and 2-13.7.g);
d. When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange, or
e. When a violation occurs.
f. When an inadvertent whistle occurs and there was no player or team control at the time of the whistle.
Isn't out of bounds a violation?

So, Tony, in NCAA, is oob a violation? is it a violation generally, but not for the purposes of the shot clock?

Wassamatta?

You don't trust me?

sheesh... :rolleyes:

rainmaker Sun May 16, 2004 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Rule 2-13 Art. 6. Stop the timing device and reset it:
a. When team control is re-established after the team loses possession
of the ball;
b. When a foul occurs (Exceptions: Rules 2-13.7.e and .f);
c. When a held ball occurs (Exceptions: Rule 2-13.7.d and 2-13.7.g);
d. When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange, or
e. When a violation occurs.
f. When an inadvertent whistle occurs and there was no player or team control at the time of the whistle.
Isn't out of bounds a violation?

So, Tony, in NCAA, is oob a violation? is it a violation generally, but not for the purposes of the shot clock?

Wassamatta?

You don't trust me?

sheesh... :rolleyes:

You're giving me way too much credit. I didn't understand the discussion well enough to trust or distrust anyone. I intended to change the question a little and head off on a tangent. I was trying to understand the oob part of the play, if it wasn't complicated by the change of possession. Tony understood my question, and gave me the quote along with the cite. Helpful since I don't have a book.

Truth to tell, my head has been spinning the last few weeks as I try to start picking up CCA 3-person mechanics. It is just so overwhelming! And I had intended to ignore rule differences between HS and college for a while longer, but this discussion seemed so germane, and as I said above, it wouldn't complicate any HS rule thoughts, since we don't use a shot clock here in Oregon, so I thought I'd ask a few quetsions.

Hawks Coach Mon May 17, 2004 04:32am

Juulie
Perhaps what you are missing is that OOB by A would automatically result in shot clock reset, even though there has not yet been a change in team control. Violations by A result in B getting ball and a new clock, with new clock coming right away.

Probably doesn't matter much with NCAA now giving TC on a throw-in, but without that rule, it would be a significant provision.

Dan_ref Mon May 17, 2004 08:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Juulie
Perhaps what you are missing is that OOB by A would automatically result in shot clock reset, even though there has not yet been a change in team control. Violations by A result in B getting ball and a new clock, with new clock coming right away.

Probably doesn't matter much with NCAA now giving TC on a throw-in, but without that rule, it would be a significant provision.

Coach, I'm not getting why you say TC on the throw-in makes a difference here.

As far as I can tell it doesn't.

Any violation causes a shot clock reset except when the defense deflects the ball OOB.


rainmaker Mon May 17, 2004 09:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

Any violation causes a shot clock reset except when the defense deflects the ball OOB.


95% of violations are turn-overs, anyway, right? The only ones that would be questions would be if the defense tipped it out, or if the defense kicked the ball, right?

mick Mon May 17, 2004 09:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

Any violation causes a shot clock reset except when the defense deflects the ball OOB.


95% of violations are turn-overs, anyway, right? The only ones that would be questions would be if the defense tipped it out, or if the defense kicked the ball, right?

Jewel,
On a defensive kick, there is an exception.
Because it is "illegal" to kick the ball out-of-bounds, the shot clock <U>is reset</U>.
If the ball is "legally" deflected out-of-bounds, the clock is not rest.
mick

Edit:
Actually, the kicked ball doesn't have to go out-of-bounds for a reset.

[Edited by mick on May 17th, 2004 at 10:13 AM]

rainmaker Mon May 17, 2004 09:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

Any violation causes a shot clock reset except when the defense deflects the ball OOB.


95% of violations are turn-overs, anyway, right? The only ones that would be questions would be if the defense tipped it out, or if the defense kicked the ball, right?

Jewel,
On a defensive kick, there is an exception.
Because it is "illegal" to kick the ball out-of-bounds, the shot clock <U>is reset</U>.
If the ball is "legally" deflected out-of-bounds, the clock is not rest.
mick

Edit:
Actually, the kicked ball doesn't have to go out-of-bounds for a reset.

[Edited by mick on May 17th, 2004 at 10:13 AM]

I did get that. My point was, why point out that the shot clock is re-set on a violation? Of course it is, since the ball is turned over. The kick and the deflection oob are the only defensive violations. The kick resets the shot clock, the tip doesn't.

Dan_ref Mon May 17, 2004 09:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

Any violation causes a shot clock reset except when the defense deflects the ball OOB.


95% of violations are turn-overs, anyway, right? The only ones that would be questions would be if the defense tipped it out, or if the defense kicked the ball, right?

I don't know if I agree with your number but I agree with the concept. In practice you need to remember to reset the shot clock on a kick ball (ncaa kick not the same as a NF kick btw), or any turnover and of course when the ball hits the rim on a shot. Generally fouls cause a reset but it gets messy with double fouls & technical fouls. No reset on a held ball if the offense has the arrow.

You can download the ncaa book from the web.

The CCA manual has many (24 or 28?) shot clock scenarios with proper ruling.


bob jenkins Mon May 17, 2004 09:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I did get that. My point was, why point out that the shot clock is re-set on a violation? Of course it is, since the ball is turned over. The kick and the deflection oob are the only defensive violations. The kick resets the shot clock, the tip doesn't.
I don't have my books here (and I'm too lazy to look them up on line), but suppose that provision wasn't there ...

Now the rule reads (something like) "The shot clock shall be reset when the other team gets control."

Before the last couple of years, when did the Team B get *control* after an offensive (Team A) violation? After the throw-in (in a general sense). What if Team A intercepted the throw-in? Should the shot-clock be reset? Not without the "reset upon a violation" wording.

Yes, it could be clearer. But, I think that's why it's there.


Dan_ref Mon May 17, 2004 09:36am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker

My point was, why point out that the shot clock is re-set on a violation?

Maybe to define when the clock is reset ie on the violation and not the subsequent throw in?

:shrug:

I wouldn't get too bogged down in this for now. Just understand how the clock is to be handled.


BktBallRef Mon May 17, 2004 10:37am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
(ncaa kick not the same as a NF kick btw)
Better look again, scooter. :)

rainmaker Mon May 17, 2004 10:39am

Bob -- Your point makes sense to me. Thanks.

Thanks for this discussion. I can see I've got some studying ahead of me.

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
The CCA manual has many (24 or 28?) shot clock scenarios with proper ruling.
I'm still on pages 16-20. Where the heck to stand when, and switching. Ugh! Reporting is different! Rotation! Wide eyes! I know it's all very good for me, but my head is spinning. I'll work on shot clock in August, with March Madness tapes.

[Edited by rainmaker on May 17th, 2004 at 11:42 AM]

Dan_ref Mon May 17, 2004 10:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
(until a few weeks ago ncaa kick not the same as a NF kick btw)
Better look again, scooter. :)

Got me...

...and that's MR Scooter to you! :)


rainmaker Mon May 17, 2004 10:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
(until a few weeks ago ncaa kick not the same as a NF kick btw)
Better look again, scooter. :)

Got me...

...and that's MR Scooter to you! :)


Explain please for us peons! No, I get the part about Mr. Scooter. I want to know more about the kick.

Dan_ref Mon May 17, 2004 11:07am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
(until a few weeks ago ncaa kick not the same as a NF kick btw)
Better look again, scooter. :)

Got me...

...and that's MR Scooter to you! :)


Explain please for us peons! No, I get the part about Mr. Scooter. I want to know more about the kick.

http://basketball.officiating.com/x/article/3763

rainmaker Mon May 17, 2004 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Explain please for us peons! No, I get the part about Mr. Scooter. I want to know more about the kick.


http://basketball.officiating.com/x/article/3763

Of course. :rolleyes: Silly me...

theboys Tue May 18, 2004 07:25am

Purely from a statistician's standpoint, I wouldn't call the situation a change of possession. Under the circumstances, I wouldn't give the defensive player a steal and a turnover because it doesn't seem like "control" applies. Nor would I give the offensive player a turnover.

mick Tue May 18, 2004 08:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by theboys
Purely from a statistician's standpoint, I wouldn't call the situation a change of possession. Under the circumstances, I wouldn't give the defensive player a steal and a turnover because it doesn't seem like "control" applies. Nor would I give the offensive player a turnover.
You do not think the defender was "holding, or dribbling"? ;)
mick

Jurassic Referee Tue May 18, 2004 08:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by theboys
Purely from a statistician's standpoint, I wouldn't call the situation a change of possession. Under the circumstances, I wouldn't give the defensive player a steal and a turnover because it doesn't seem like "control" applies. Nor would I give the offensive player a turnover.
Does that mean that if a defensive player steals the ball, and then subsequently double-dribbles, travels,etc., you also wouldn't credit that defensive player with a steal and a turnover either? You've got exactly the same thing in both situations-i.e. A steal, followed by player and team control(by rule), followed by a violation.

The rules definition of player control is "holding or dribbling the ball". That fits all the situations above.

Adam Tue May 18, 2004 09:19am

theboys,

I agree with the others, I don't see how you can avoid calling it a steal/turnover. It's not as if the play is unaffected, since A gets a new shotclock. B1 worked to get the steal, give it to her. Now, she neglects to pass it before landing OOB, give her the turnover.
Would you give it to her if her first foot landed in bounds and her second foot landed OOB? What about both feet in and then dribbles OOB? It seems to me the logical and reasonable definition should be whether she establishes player control. She did.

BktBallRef Tue May 18, 2004 09:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by theboys
Purely from a statistician's standpoint, I wouldn't call the situation a change of possession. Under the circumstances, I wouldn't give the defensive player a steal and a turnover because it doesn't seem like "control" applies. Nor would I give the offensive player a turnover.
This is why there's no consistency in statistics at lower levels of play.

Under statistical rules, this is a turnover for A, and a steal and turnover for B. B1 had player control of the ball. It can't be ignored.

Rickref Tue May 18, 2004 12:42pm

I saw a play along similar lines. High school rules, the opening tip is going out of bounds before either team can gain control. Player for Team A grabs the ball while airborne before he lands OOB he saves it to Player B. In this case the AP arrow was set to Team B. I believe that would be correct.

Adam Tue May 18, 2004 01:24pm

Looks right to me, Rick. Same concept.

rockyroad Tue May 18, 2004 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef

this is a turnover for A, and a steal and turnover for B. B1 had player control of the ball. It can't be ignored.

Sounds like your two partners ignored it quite well... just goes to show that it ain't always the best or brightest who get to "move up" if you know what I mean...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1